Saturn's Website

10/12/2023

Thoughts on Doctor Who (2023): The Giggle

thegiggle

Once again, I've got a lot to say, so I'll just get right into spoilers.

Honestly I really can't piece together what the fanbase's opinion on this, but I think my final thoughts on this episode are more positive than most.

I want to start with the plotline with The Toymaker, as that took up the majority of the episode. Neil Patrick Harris was the perfect casting for this role, as he played the most over-the-top villain in a Doctor Who story since probably John Simm's version of The Master from the 2009 specials. Unlike that example however, the writing of the episode was strong enough to work for the character. I can't make any comparisons to the original version of The Toymaker from the 60s though, since I haven't seen what little remains of that serial.

I actually enjoyed the idea that he was defeated through a game of catch. I think what didn't make it land the best was how it was shot, as each shot of someone catching and throwing the ball was very quick, and it did not look convincing that anyone had actually caught the ball in the takes that were used.

While I know the inclusion of UNIT, and Mel in this story are there to set up future spin-offs, I felt it was integrated well into the episode. It makes sense that UNIT would have access to technology that would block the brain activity causing humanity to act on their worst instincts. In the case of Mel, I'm actually interested in seeing future stories with her, as her character is much better here than her previous appearances in the 80s.

Now, onto the main topic of discussion for this episode. The Doctor's regeneration, or I guess bi-generation.

When I first saw Ncuti Gatwa's 15th Doctor separate from the 14th, I was not sure what to think. This is a major change to the show's canon, arguably in a similar way to the Timeless Child from Chibnall's run.

Here's why it doesn't bother me as much as the Timeless Child. First, this is a brand new thing being introduced, possibly just for a one-off scenario, whereas the Timeless Child was just changing the show's past for a dubious reason that remains unresolved. Second, it's clear that Russel T. Davies wanted to effectively do a soft reboot of the show, starting again at Season 1, leaving the 14th Doctor to take time with therapy, and resolving the baggage from the many traumatizing events from the modern series. This lets Gatwa's 15th Doctor start fresh at a point that will allow new viewers to follow along without having to watch the many seasons leading up to this point.

I don't think the idea was executed the best, but it allows for a clean break point between the show's previous era, and a new one.

As for what little we've seen of Ncuti Gatwa's 15th Doctor, I thought he was great right off the bat. I saw people concerned that because Tennant was still there, it took away from his introduction a bit, but I didn't feel that at all. For me, the 15th Doctor stole the show in every scene he was in for the rest of the episode, which is saying something in a story where the villain did nothing but steal the show for the first 40 minutes. I am completely sold on his interpretation so far, and I hope the upcoming Season One lives up to my hype.

Overall, I had a great time with these specials. If I had to rank them, I would say my favourite by quite a bit is Wild Blue Yonder, then second place would go to The Giggle, with The Star Beast in last place.

whimsprite

Return to blog archive